Order of St. Augustine (OSA)

Order of St. Augustine (OSA)

Augustinians are members of the Order of Saint Augustine, an international Catholic religious community of men and women. In the United States, there are three regional provinces of Augustinians. The Order sponsors Villanova University, Merrimack College, several high schools, and many parishes. We have a variety of different ministries, including inner-city apostolates in the United States, as well as missions in Japan and Peru. We collaborate with committed lay women and men and draw from our institutions and volunteers to bring Christian ideals into real life situations, especially for those in need around the world.

Our community life is built on the same qualities as friendship: mutual acceptance and respect, a willingness to listen to others and to open oneself to them, kindness and concern, a spirit of forgiveness. It is a way of life that puts far less emphasis on rules and regulations than on personal responsibility and decisions made together.

Part of our life is spent in contemplation and prayer, and part in ministry. We go where the needs of the Church call us—to the inner city, to rural and remote areas, to the campus, to foreign lands—and we serve in many ways: as preachers of the word and presiders at the sacraments, as pastoral ministers and missionaries, as chaplains and social workers, as teachers and scholars, as writers, professional counselors, musicians, and artists.

Whatever form our work takes, we bring with us our personality as Augustinians. Among those we serve, we try to create what we seek in our Order’s own houses: a community of love and respect, where the presence of God can be recognized in each member. Our hearts strive to be on fire with the experience of God’s love, and we desire always to share that fire with others.

Regional Provinces

In the United States, there are three regional provinces of Augustinians

St. Augustine


St. Thomas of Villanova (East)

Mother of Good Counsel (Midwest)